TRAFFIC VIOLATION
DUI / DWI
POSSESSION



In Missouri when you receive a traffic citation this may can result in points on your driver's license. As a result of these point you could see an increase in your vehicle insurance, or worse, the suspension or revocation of your driver's license.

To begin the process and discuss representation for your speeding or other traffic ticket, call West County Family Law at 636-861-1111. We have defense attorneys with extensive experience defending against traffic violations cases. We handle minor misdemeanors to serious felony charges ranging from speeding violations to reckless driving to driving under the influence (DUI) charges.

If you need help fighting a traffic ticket or serious traffic crime, contact our experienced traffic defense attorneys at West County Family Law for:

· Speeding

· DUI/DWI

· Operating with a Suspended License

· Driving without Insurance

· Unauthorized use of a Motor Vehicle

· Leaving the Scene of an Accident

· Careless or Reckless Driving

People understand that they need a criminal defense lawyer if they have been arrested for a serious traffic crime like drunk driving or leaving the scene of an accident. However, it is also essential to have an experienced defense attorney for some speeding ticket or other traffic violation.


DUI / DWI



Alcohol and driving together is never a good idea. Alcohol impairs your ability to make decisions resulting in poor choices and severe consequences. A driver can be pulled over in Missouri if there is probable cause that suggests that they may be driving while intoxicated or under the influence either alcohol or drugs. There are no differences in Missouri between a DUI (driving under the influence) and a DWI (driving while intoxicated), and the penalties for each are the same.

Blood Alcohol Content

A Missouri DWI is issued when an adult driver is operating a motor vehicle with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of .08 or when a driver under 21 years of age is operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .020.



Implied Consent



Missouri has an Implied Consent which mandates that a driver suspected of DUI/DWI be administered a chemical test such as a breathalyzer to determine their BAC (blood alcohol content). The refusal of this test is an automatic one year suspension of your Missouri drivers license. When you are charged with a DUI/DWI in Missouri there are criminal and administrative charges that carry separate penalties. You will also be required to file a SR-22 form with your vehicle insurance company. This form alerts them of your conviction.


First Offense


In Missouri a first offense DUI/DWI is a Class B Misdemeanor, eight (8) points are added to your Missouri Driving Record, and this may result in jail time of up to 6 months. You will pay fines of up to $500 and your license will be suspended for 30 days with a 60 day restricted driving period to follow if you are an adult driver, and your license will be suspended for 90 days if you are under 21 years of age. All DWI offenders are required complete SATOP, the Missouri Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program, before their license is reinstated. Depending on your BAC at the time of arrest, you may also be required to complete an intensive weekend intervention program.


Second Offense


A second Missouri DUI/DWI offense is a Class A Misdemeanor and you are deemed a Prior Offender, twelve (12) points are added to your Missouri Driving Record, and may result in jail time of up to 1 year. You will pay fines of up to $1,000 and your license will be revoked for one (1) year and, if it is within 5 years of your previous DWI, you will receive a 5-year license denial. All DWI offenders are required to pay their fines and reinstatement fees, and also complete SATOP, the Missouri Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program, before their license is reinstated. Community Service of 30 days will be required for probation. You also will be required to take and pass both the written and driving portions of the Missouri Driving Test. And, an Ignition Interlock Device will be required for one (1) month.


Third Offense


A third Missouri DUI/DWI is a Class D Felony and you are deemed a Persistent Offender, twelve (12) points are added to your Missouri Driving Record, and this offense may result in jail time of up to 4 years. You will pay fines of up to $5,000 and you will receive a ten (10) year license denial. All DWI offenders are required to pay their fines and reinstatement fees, and also complete SATOP, the Missouri Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program, before their license is reinstated. Community Service of 60 days will be required for probation. You will be required to take and pass both the written and driving portions of the Missouri Driving Test. And, an Ignition Interlock Device will be required for several months.

West County Family Law firmly defends clients involved in criminal proceedings. We are highly experienced in handling a variety of misdemeanors and felonies, from basic traffic violations to more serious cases such as driving under the influence (DUI/DWI).





Experienced Service and Legal Counsel


Our goal at West County Family Law is to provide the highest quality of experience, service and legal counsel. With more than 65 years of experience, attorneys Case & Rajnoha are capable of handling many types of legal matters. Founded in 1975, West County Family Law's trademark has been prompt, personal attention. Our success has been our dedication to our clients and protecting their best interests and rights. Our clients deserve to be well-represented, with quality legal services provided by a dedicated team of attorneys and paralegals. We pride ourselves in our personal service by making sure we are available for our client throughout the legal process.



We're Here to Help You



We seek to help you through the legal problem confronting you. The first step is an easy one: call us for a free telephone consultation at (636) 861-1111 to speak with our Ballwin family and criminal law attorneys. You can also contact us online.



We accept Visa and MasterCard.


West County Family Law is located in Ballwin, Missouri, and serves the cities of St. Louis, Chesterfield, Fenton, Valley Park, Clayton, Creve Coeur, Kirkwood, Des Peres, Webster Groves, Manchester, Eureka, Hillsboro, Maryland Heights, Town and Country, Ellisville, Frontenac, Wildwood, Ladue and Crestwood. We also serve other communities in St. Louis County, Jefferson County, St. Charles County, West County and South County.